About Path to Treaty

Path to Treaty is the journey to create a new future between First Nations and non-Indigenous Queenslanders.

The Queensland Government started the Path to Treaty conversation with all Queenslanders in 2019, with truth-telling and healing at the heart of this dialogue.

Along with Local Thriving Communities, Path to Treaty is one of the first initiatives that is operating in accordance with the reframed relationship launched as part of the Queensland Government’s Tracks to Treaty.

There is no treaty agreement with Aboriginal people and Torres Strait Islander people as First Nations peoples. Aboriginal people and Torres Strait Islander people were displaced from their land without any negotiation, resulting in political, economic and social inequalities that continue to this day.

In 2019 the Queensland Government decided to start the conversation with all Queenslanders, to heal the past and create a new relationship for all Queenslanders to prosper. An expert group of people, the Eminent Panel, was appointed and a Treaty Working Group began the first public conversations about how to move forward. The group made recommendations to the Queensland Government in February 2020.

The journey so far ...

  • July 2019 — Queensland Government Statement of Commitment to a reframed relationship.
  • 22 August 2019 — Eminent Panel appointed to start work on treaty.
  • October to December 2019 — Treaty Working Group holds 24 x public consultations.
  • February 2020 — Eminent Panel advice and recommendations.
  • May 2020 — Eminent Panel supplementary advice and recommendations due to COVID-19.
  • August 2020 — Treaty Advancement Committee announced with Queensland Government commitment to process.

The Eminent Panel and Treaty Working Group

The Eminent Panel was a group of seven distinguished leaders appointed to start the treaty process.

The Treaty Working Group led the formal public consultation process and provided a report to the Eminent Panel.

Treaty Working Group report – February 2020 (PDF, 6.5 MB) has more information about the members of the Eminent Panel and Treaty Working Group.

Community consultations

Where were public consultations held?

All Queenslanders are included in treaty conversations. The Treaty Working Group led this work through public meetings, written submissions, online surveys and stakeholder meetings. 

Consultations were based on questions in the Consultation Paper. You can view the working group’s recommendations in the Treaty Working Group report (PDF, 6.5 MB).

There were 24 public consultations held from October to December 2019 in the below locations:

  • Barcaldine
  • Birdsville
  • Brisbane
  • Bundaberg
  • Caboolture
  • Cairns
  • Charleville
  • Cherbourg
  • Coen
  • Cunnamulla
  • Gold Coast
  • Ipswich
  • Kowanyama
  • Logan
  • Mackay
  • Mitchell
  • Mount Isa
  • Rockhampton
  • Roma
  • Thursday Island
  • Toowoomba
  • Townsville
  • Weipa
  • Woorabinda

How many people participated?

There was high interest and engagement in the 2019 consultation phase, with 1,700 people participating:

  • 1,080 people came to the public meetings.
  • 250 stakeholder meetings were held.
  • 331 people completed online surveys.
  • 38 written submissions were received.

*These figures do not include the four community sessions in Kingaroy, New Mapoon, Napranum and Bamaga, which were held informally to allow for Sorry Business.

What were the key themes?

There was significant support for a treaty. Three major themes from community were:


This is a conversation for all Queenslanders, Indigenous and non-Indigenous.


Truth-telling and healing are an important part of this process.


We need to invest in the capability of people to be treaty-ready.