Treaty Advancement Committee

In August 2020 the Queensland Government accepted, or accepted in principle, the recommendations of the Eminent Panel and released a statement of commitment and response.

The government response included a commitment to establish a Treaty Advancement Committee to partner with the Queensland Government on implementing the Eminent Panel recommendations. In February 2021 the Premier and Minister for Trade, The Honourable Annastacia Palaszczuk, and the Minister for Seniors and Disability Services and Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships, The Honourable Craig Crawford, announced the establishment of the Treaty Advancement Committee.

The committee meets on a fortnightly basis to develop options and provide independent advice on how to progress treaty-making for all Queenslanders.

The Treaty Advancement Committee is expected to report to government on options later this year.

Meet the Treaty Advancement Committee

  • Dr Jackie Huggins AM (co-chair)

    Dr Jackie Huggins

    Dr Jackie Huggins AM is a Bidjara/Birri Gubba Juru woman, former Co-Chair of the National Congress of Australia’s First Peoples, and former Co-Chair of the Path to Treaty Eminent Panel and Treaty Working Group.

  • Mr Mick Gooda (co-chair)

    Mr Mick Gooda

    Mr Mick Gooda is a Ghungalu man, former Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Commissioner of the Australian Human Rights Commission, and former Co-Chair of the Treaty Working Group.

  • Emeritus Professor Michael Lavarch AO

    Emeritus Professor Michael Lavarch

    Prof Lavarch is the former Attorney General for Australia and former Co-Chair of the Path to Treaty Eminent Panel.

  • Dr Josephine Bourne

    Dr Josephine Bourne

    Dr Bourne is a a Gumulgal woman, Torres Strait Islander and former member of the Path to Treaty Eminent Panel.

  • Dr Sallyanne Atkinson AO

    Ms Sallyanne Atkinson

    Dr Atkinson was the first female Lord Mayor of Brisbane, former Senior Trade Commissioner (Paris) and former Special Representative for Queensland in South East Asia.