Welfare reform

About the Welfare Reform Program

The Welfare Reform Program focuses on restoring social norms and social responsibility, while re-establishing local leadership and increasing economic participation, in the five welfare reform communities of:

  • Aurukun
  • Coen
  • Hope Vale
  • Doomadgee
  • Mossman Gorge. 

Family Responsibilities Commission 

About the FRC

The Family Responsibilities Commission (FRC) is a key mechanism supporting the Welfare Reform Program. It is an independent statutory body, established under the Family Responsibilities Commission Act 2008 (the Act).

The FRC operates to restore local authority and build stronger and more resilient communities by having the Family Responsibilities Commissioner and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Local Commissioners convene conferences with community members notified to the FRC for breaching a 'trigger' under the Act. Triggers include when a child does not attend school or is not enrolled, a person is convicted of a criminal offence, a child safety report is made, a domestic violence order is issued, or a breach of a tenancy arrangement occurs.

Annual and quarterly reports

The FRC provides details on the operations of the Commission over the past financial year, including statistics, financial details and case studies.

Visit the FRC website for a list of current and archived reports.